La guerra sucia – intro & cap. 1

It has been a hectic school year! In Spanish 4 we joined up with Spanish 3 and completed a unit on art together (since my 4’s did not have it last year!). We are now moving on to one of my favorite units which is all about the Dirty War in Argentina. It is a favorite because the students are always so surprised that something like this actually happened, they do not learn it in their social studies classes, and I like seeing how invested they get in the stories we read and the movies we watch.

This year I introduced this unit using a webquest (Thank you Kristy Placido!) Currently the link to the video in Station 3 does not exist – Kristy mentioned in a tweet that she had another similar resource… I will bother her another day for that 🙂

After the students were sufficiently surprised and intrigued by what they were learning, we watched La  historia oficial. I have adapted a variety of sources for my movie guide. If you can help me give credit where it is due – PLEASE tell me! In the switching of schools and the re-typing of many worksheets/papers I lost lots in the shuffle.

We are now beginning the TPRS novel: La Guerra Sucia. This year is the most prepared I have felt. My Spanish 4 class is  so small I decided against the reading groups that Carrie Toth has done in the past and just decided to switch up how we read each day.

Today we read chapter one and I had the students do a comic strip retell (thanks Carrie for that one!) THEY TURNED OUT SO GOOD! This is just one example! img_7600

Tomorrow we will begin chapter 2 and make a pro/con list for why Leslie should go/not go & the Tweet idea (also from Carrie Toth)!

2 thoughts on “La guerra sucia – intro & cap. 1

  1. Hola! I am happy to have discovered your blog. Last yr was my first yr teaching Spanish in a long time and I also started using some CI techniques and novels. I too used La Hija del Sastre, La Guerra Sucia, (both in SP4). In 3, we read Fiesta Fatal & La Calaca Alegre. In Sp 2 we used El Nuevo Houdini. I m using even more books this year. I love using the novels as a platform for language learning. I know I will benefit from reading your blog, so thank you! Is your schedule traditional or block? We are going to be on a block schedule for the first time and I am looking for any suggestions on pacing or ways to manage the long 95 min. classes! How was La Historia Oficial received by your students? Could they understand much? Did they like it? Muchas gracias!
    Kim

    Like

    1. Hello! Thank you so much! I am not very good at updating once the school year starts, but I will do my best! We are on a traditional schedule, but during state testing (I am in OH) we go to a block schedule for about 1.5 months. I really like the block because it gives more time for you to give feedback IN class and go over assignments more in depth. I can share my lesson plans and such with you if you want – just send me an email: kaleigh.baker@vbaviators.com and I am happy to share all that I have!

      And La Historia Oficial was well received! I warn them in advance that the movie is quite old for their standards, but we have already done a webquest on that time frame in Argentina and some readings on the Abuelas so they have some background information on the topic. They HATE the ending. I also usually put subtitles on for them and we discuss what they watched each day so they are using some of the vocabulary they picked up on. The whole topic is really interesting to the students because it is not something they talk about in their social studies/history classes! Again, just send me an email and I can share this with you as well! Have a great start to the year!

      Like

Leave a Reply

